Skip to main content

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees  

Scott J. Ulm, Chair
Co-Chief Executive Officer, Vice Chairman, and Head of Risk Management, ARMOUR

Elizabeth M. Hewitt, Co-Vice Chair 
Chief Investment Officer and Senior Vice President, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

Soohyung Kim, Co-Vice Chair
Managing Member and Chief Investment Officer, Standard General

Kim M. Wieland, Treasurer
Chief Financial Officer, Allen & Company

Robbianne Mackin, M.F.R., Secretary
Chief Development Officer, ecoAmerica


(Alphabetical by last name)

Edward A. Ames (Ned), Honorary Member
Member of the Board, Open Space Institute; Member of the Board, Wave Hill

Frances Beinecke
Former President of the Natural Resources Defense Council

Emily Bernhardt, PhD
Professor, Department of Biology, Duke University

Farran Tozer Brown
Director, Vectra Management Group

Indy Burke, PhD
Carl W. Knobloch, Jr. Dean, Yale School of the Environment

Hugo Cassirer
Managing Director, Felix Films, Inc.

J. Barclay Collins
Chairman of the Board, United Hospital Fund of New York

Beth Comstock
Author; Trustee, National Geographic Society

John M. Drake, PhD
Professor, Odum School of Ecology, University of Georgia

Eric S. Ewing
Realtor (retired), Founding member, The Lothlorien Group, LLC

Joshua R. Ginsberg, PhD,  Ex-Officio
President, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies; Member, Board of Trustees: Open Space Institute; Ocean Foundation, Blacksmith Institute/Pure Earth, Wildlife Conservation Society Canada, and Catskill Mountainkeeper

Elizabeth R. Hilpman
Partner, Barlow Partners Investments

Erich D. Jarvis, PhD
Professor, Director of Field Research Center for Ethology and Ecology at The Rockefeller University; Investigator at Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Everette Joseph, PhD
Director, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Lawrence M. Kelly, PhD
Vice President for Science Administration, Director of Graduate Studies; Editor-in-Chief, Flora Neotropica, New York Botanical Garden

Rubén Kraiem
Senior Counsel, Covington & Burling, LLP

Gretchen Long, Past Chair & Honorary Trustee
Member, National Park System Advisory Board

Christopher J. McKenzie
Senior Vice President, General Counsel, Wildlife Conservation Society

Muriel Poston, PhD
Professor, Environmental Analysis, Pitzer College

Simon C. Roosevelt
Author; Founder, Conservation Roundtable; Co-Founder American Conservation Projects; Co-Founder Elkhorn Ranch

Allan Shope
Architect,  Sustainable Architecture